Skip to content

If Lost, Please Return to Uganda…

July 14, 2011

 

I am going to completely copy Mike’s style here and give you random, but current facts:

 

What I’m listening to: Bob Marley’s ‘Survival’ Album, ZZ Top and Gaga’s new album. Weird combo.

What I had for dinner last night: Rice and goat meat.

Book I’m reading: Bend in the River by V.S. Naipaul

(Favorite line so far, which is actually the first sentence of the book: “The world is what is; men who are nothing, who allow themselves to become nothing, have no place in it.”)

Number of days in Uganda: 53

Number of days remaining: 10

Project status: 4 workshops, over 15 home visits, 16 schools visits, material distribution and follow-ups completed!!!!!!!!! Final report time.

Average amount of phones a Ugandan carries/has: 3

Time I got to work today: 8:00am

Time anyone actually started to work: 10:00am

Number of avocados given to me by mothers in Bisanje sub-county yesterday: 35

My coworker’s attempted pick up line yesterday: “Grace, it seems you have gained weight.” Followed by a suggestive nudge. I quickly explained that this, to me, is the furthest thing from a complement (not to mention I probably went on some rant about being force-fed matooke and that it’s not my fault). He sulked off, but found me this morning and tried again…. “Grace, you look like Kate Moss today.”

Which I responded, “Do you know who Kate Moss is Paul?”

“No, but Joseph googled it and it said she’s the skinniest women in the world.”

I was satisfied with his response. We shared a passion fruit before I went to the field.

 

Like the last post, I am going to give tons of pictures with little captions instead of writing a small novel. I feel like I’m starting to repeat myself, I mean it has been 8 weeks. This week was filled with follow-up visits with all of my Peer Support Group patients/members. It was beyond successful! So let the fuuuunn begin….

 

Picture One: My facilitator (in red) who has become probably my best friend here, buying some pork on our way back from the field. I love this because we stop to buy meat every day on our way home, and it still hasn’t gotten easy to see these guys machete slabs of hanging meat while laughing at my reaction, which usually consists of me hiding behind my coworkers laughing hysterically.

 

Picture Two: This is was on our project follow-up when we went to see each of my favorite kids again to see their progress with their small businesses. This was a week after his final workshop, look how much Stephen made!!!!! He was SO excited to show me and even made a broom with my name sewn into it, it was adorable. I was so happy for him and he was so proud of his progress. The best part was his guardian was 100% supportive. My facilitator bought everything he made J

 

Picture Three: Another follow-up with Brian. He was great to talk to because it’s like he is 50-year-old businessman. He showed me the budget book that he was keeping up-to-date since we taught them at the workshop. He, like Stephen, was SO proud of his progress and profit!

 

Picture Four: My three favorite girls at their follow up in their school. We have spent so much time together in the last two months, saying goodbye was really difficult. We all just started hugging and the minute they started crying, I couldn’t control it. I’m glad we got this picture before the embarrassing waterworks. They surprised me with the sewn bag with my name on it. I think I will be back to Uganda just to see them. (Colleen Cable, your Letters of Hope pen-pal is the second from the left! She is SO excited to hear from you 🙂 )

 

Picture Five: Yet again, another follow-up with Ruth. She sold us two bags and was teaching , well I should attempting to teach, me how to weave a mat.


Picture Six: A cute baby. 

 

 

I don’t want to go on and on, but it has really been the most amazing two months here. The project was a complete success! Getting so close to the end is making me realize how many ties and close friends I have made here. I am so grateful for this opportunity, THANK YOU MR. HESTON AND CPS! (I’m getting sentimental, sorry!) On to Jinja with the crew for the weekend J


Img_2126Img_2157Img_2160Img_2168Img_2178Img_2127

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

